Four men sentenced to life imprisonment over oil theft


Justice Agatha A. Okeke of the Federal High Court sitting in Lafia, Nasarawa State has convicted and sentenced four suspected members of an oil syndicate, to 10 years imprisonment on each of the 12-count charge of oil theft preferred against them by the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission, EFCC.
Olusegun Gbenga, Yusuf Muhammed, Abass Auwal and Olanipekun Olagoke allegedly committed the offence in May 2014 at a military checkpoint in Nasarawa state.
The convicts had pleaded not guilty on arraignment, but after diligent prosecution by the EFCC, they were found guilty and sentenced.