States that can’t pay salaries in Nigeria


BudgIT is a civic organization that applies technology to intersect citizen engagement with institutional improvement, to facilitate societal change. In 2015, the organization released a list of 19 states in Nigeria that could not pay workers’ salaries, but now that number has swollen to 33 Nigerian states.

Here is a full list of  the states that are finding it hard to pay workers:

1. Akwa Ibom

2. Bayelsa

3. Oyo

4. Osun

5. Ogun

6. Plateau

7. Delta

8. Kwara

9. Adamawa

10. Abia

11. Benue

12. Bauchi

13. Jigawa

14. Kano

15. Cross River

16. Kogi

17. Imo

18. Ondo

19. Nassarawa

20. Yobe

21. Kaduna

22. Ekiti

23. Sokoto

24. Borno

25. Taraba

Then there are some states that have been able to meet up with the payment partially and here they are:

1. Zamfara

2. Gombe

3. Anambra

4. Niger

5. Katsina

6. Ebonyi

7. Edo

8. Kebbi

However, there are some states that are able to pay their workers and here they are:

1. Lagos

2. Rivers

3. Enugu

Meanwhile, the Speaker of the House of Representatives Honourable Yakubu Dogara has disclosed that the federal government will refund about N20 billion to each state for funds they had spent on federal projects in their state.